About Careers in Transportation Curriculum Project

Grades 6-12

Funded by the US Department of Transportation

Background:

 

This project builds on the original Career Cluster partnership with the US Department of Transportation.  In 1999 the US Department of Transportation took a leadership role in the creation of the National Transportation, Distribution and Logistics Career Cluster.  Today they are partnering with the National Association of State Directors of Career and Technical Education by sponsoring the development of Careers in Transportation Curriculum Materials.

Purpose:

The purpose of this project is to develop a series of grades 6-12 curriculum units that will introduce students to careers, skills, and concepts one would need to succeed in the transportation industry.  With many industries competing for student interest these materials will be designed to establish a pipeline of potential students who would enter the transportation field.  The materials will address the transportation cluster foundation, related pathway standards and appropriate academic standards.  These new materials will enable teachers to expand, enhance and reinforce academic content and as a result improve transportation cluster knowledge and skills as well as academic achievement.

 

Universities, Departments of Career and Technical Education, Departments of Transportation and other business partners from across the country are working together on this curriculum project to build on the work already accomplished through the National Career Cluster Initiative.

How to Get Involved

If your state or school is interested in participating in the national field testing of these materials, please contact Dr. Frances Beauman, Project Director at 217/725-1140 or fran@beaumanconsulting.com  The project web site may be found at Transportationcareers.org

State Education Partners:

Nebraska:

Rich Katt – State Director Career Technical Education

Tony Glenn, Education – Specialist, Industrial, Manufacturing and Engineering Systems Career Field
Email:  Tony.Glenn@nebraska.gov
Nebraska Department of Education

Virginia:

Lolita Hall – State Director Career Technical Education

George Wilcox – Trade and Industrial Education Specialist

Email:  George.Wilcox@doe.virginia.gov
Office of Career and Technical Education
Virginia Department of Education

Margaret Watson. CTE Resource Center
Email: mlwatson@cteresiurce.org

New York:

Eric Suhe – State Director Career Technical Education

Cheryl Winstel – Associate in Trade and Technical Education
Email:  CWinstel@mail.nysed.gov
New York State Education Department

Missouri:

Sharon Hoge – State Director Career Technical Education

Dennis Harden – Coordinator, Career Education
Email:  Dennis.Harden@dese.mo.gov

Gavin Allan -Technology, Health, and Skilled Technical Sciences Education

Email:  Gavin.Allan@dese.mo.gov
Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Oklahoma:

Phil Berkenbile – State Director Career Technical Education

Becki Foster – Associate State Director
Email:  bfost@okcareertech.org
Oklahoma Dept. of Career and Technology Education

Texas:

Ron Whitson – CTE Curriculum Director
Email:  ron.whitson@tea.state.tx.us

Public and Private Partners:

 

Nebraska:

Sue Larson, Nebraska Department of Roads
Email:  Sue.Larson@nebraska.gov

Virginia:

Barbara Patterson, Virginia Department of Transportation
Email:  Barbara.Patterson@VDOT.virginia.gov

Freddie Jones, Virginia Department of Transportation
Email:  Freddie.Jones@VDOT.virginia.gov